THE VEIL.

I see you there standing
with a half sly grin
strumming the  right strings 
making everyone’s heart go ding ding ding!

Fooling the world is easy for you
though it’s not something that you can do to me,
because your eyes speak their own language
the one which only I can see.
Tell me why? why do you’ve to be this way
posing as someone else for the people in this Broadway
who wouldn’t really care about any of it anyway.
why do you’ve to be the one to hide your beautiful face,
as if you’re the one who needs to own up and take the blame.
I understand that it’s painful for you to see
your own reflection in the mirror and not recognize it completely,
but dear you’re not the one to blame
for a person to lose his sane
and throw acid on someone as if it’s a game
who am i kidding? a person isn’t what they should be named
a demon is what suites them more for doing something this inhumane.

Now I walk my way up the dimly lit theater to you,
hoping you would realize the truth behind what I’ve been telling you.
I pace a little faster midst grabbing a tart
because there’s not much time left
before your short break ends
and your next piece starts.

I don’t know if it would be any different this time
by you realizing the truth behind my lines;
or if it would be the same
with me trying to help you out of your pain
and nothing registering in your brain.
I don’t have a clue about how it would go
but what I do know
is that this is my only hope
to make you realize
that beauty resides in the eyes of the beholder
and not in the opinions of those whose hearts have grown colder.
what the society tells has nothing to do with you
those people hardly know you
then why do you let them have such a huge impact on you.
Listen and believe in what I tell you
you’re beautiful and nobody who knows you
would deny that about you.
you’re perfect in all your imperfections
and those scars that you behold
are exactly what makes you so special and bold.
people who love you, love you for who you are
so please try and stop hiding because of the scars.

Listening to me
all you do is smile; (the one which I can see through your eyes)
leaving me clueless
about how you registered it this time.
Not heeding to my calls and plain ignoring me overall
you laugh your way back to the stage
unveiling the drape with which you hid your face.

A hushed silence takes over the crowd
for a while before you break it with your laugh
that honestly sounds more like a howl;
the space instantly seemed to relax down by a notch
how would it not;
with a charming personality like yours
there’s honestly no other possibility at all.
I stand there in complete shock
feeling something that i’d never before
because all my words finally paid off after so long;
you stood there smirking off
something that you used to be best known for;
The people in the crowd now cheer you on
as you lightly run your fingers through the strings of your guitar
because nothing at this point matters a lot
except for how exceptionally talented you’re
and how you’re so much stronger because of your battle scars;
So there you go again back to
strumming the right strings
making everyone’s heart go ding ding ding!

 

Leave a Reply

